#WednesdayWisdom: Pass it on (Part 2)

Last week I launched a new series of posts for #WednesdayWisdom, inspired by the latest issue of Casquette magazine, called Pass it On.

This week’s advice comes from Katherine Moore, who writes at Katherinebikes. I met Katherine at the Where it begins event at the Specialized Concept store, and have repeatedly been inspired by her cycling exploits.

She’s just about to join GCN and embark on the next chapter of her career, congratulations Katherine! Over to you…

Katherine Moore

IMG-20170712-WA0000

“It wasn’t from a friend, nor a fellow rider on a club run, but possibly the best piece of advice I’ve ever been given on the bike was from a professional. It took a couple of years and a whole lot of pain, but the lesson I learnt has changed the way I cycle completely.

Getting into cycling and finally finding a form of exercise that was enjoyable, I quickly caught the bug and was delighted to see how rapidly I was improving, with the help from my local clubmates. Having gained some extra weight at university, I was also very happy to find that I was slimming down to a new, more athletic form. Little did I know, that the balance had actually been tipped past what was healthy, which sparked the start of a long battle with eating disorders.

After seeking therapy for my condition and talking through the mental aspects of my health, I was still unclear on exactly how I should be fuelling my body for the sport that I was so infatuated with. I discovered Renee McGregor online; a registered sports dietician with experience ranging from amateur athletes to Paralympians.

My meeting with Renee and the meal plan that we put together highlighted just how little I was doing to fuel my rides adequately, which not only affected my performance, but also my health. By using Renee’s scientific approach to understanding how many grams of carbohydrate I would need per hour of cycling at each given intensity, I learnt to choose foods that would meet these needs and keep me at my peak of physical and mental performance.

I personally believe that underfuelling is a common mistake on rides; often cyclists seem to nosh a gel on the sly or opt for coffee only at the stops, but it’s such a crucial part of the sport. We’ve all bonked and know how bad that is, surely?! I’d recommend Renee’s book, Training Food, for anyone who’s interested in getting the most out of their riding and is keen to hear Renee dispelling a number of nutrition myths.”

I’d like to thank Katherine for sharing her story, and hope that you can take something from it. If you’ve got some advice you’d like to pass on, please get in touch through the Contact page!

Leave a Reply

